We offer quality learning experience for children

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

What is the EYFS?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

The EYFS seeks to provide:
  • Quality and consistency in all early years settings, so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind.
  • A secure foundation through learning and development opportunities that are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly.
  • Partnership working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers.
  • Equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported.
There are four guiding principles that shape practice in early years settings
  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and/or carers.
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.


EYFS: 7 Areas of Learning

The seven areas of learning are achieved through Play! Our staff ensure that our play opportunities are varied and exciting for our children.

There are 7 areas of learning and development that must shape our educational provision, these areas are all important and interconnected. The first three are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn. These three areas are called the Prime Areas. These are followed with four Specific Areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied.

We assess the 7 areas of learning and share this with parents through our online learning journey: Tapestry. This information is shared with comments and/or photographs and videos.

Please ask to see our photo display in the hallway that shows a huge range of our exciting activities in each area to give an insight into how your child will explore the 7 areas of learning.

Prime Areas:

  • Communication and Language (C&L)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Physical Development (PD)

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy (L)
  • Mathematics (M)
  • Understanding the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

These areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Our staff ensure these activities are targeted to your child’s individual interests, needs and stage of ability. There are also many resources available for children to choose themselves and develop their independence.

What to Expect When?

Early Years staff use the Development Matters in the Early Years Foundation Stage document daily. This outlines the 7 areas of learning split into different age bands (stages of development) :

  • 0-11 months
  • 8-20 months
  • 16-26 months
  • 22-36 months
  • 30-50 months
  • 40-60 months

Children develop at their own rates, and in their own ways. The development statements and their order should not be taken as necessary steps for individual children. They should not be used as checklists. The age/stage bands overlap because these are not fixed age boundaries but suggest a typical range of development. Our online learning journeys through Tapestry will show your child’s progress through these stages and you can discuss and contribute to next steps with your child’s key person at any time.

Further information can be found in the following guide that is available to download online or to borrow from our Nursery: What to expect when, A Parent’s Guide

Further information can also be found by downloading: The parents guide to the EYFS

Characteristics of Effective Learning

The Characteristics of Effective Learning and the prime and specific areas of learning are all interconnected. They should also underpin everything that practitioners offer in the environment. The characteristics describe how a child learns.

When children are left to explore a stimulating learning environment on their own, they will learn through playing and exploring. Children also need support from a skillful practitioner, who has the knowledge of when to intervene and give guidance. This support will help children make significant progress in their learning.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing and exploring

Finding out and exploring
Playing with what they know
Being willing to ‘have a go.’

Active learning

Being involved and concentrating
Keeping trying
Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically

Having their own ideas
Making links
Choosing ways to do things